QOTW: Books You Read Again and Again

27 May

This week we asked ourselves:

What are the books that you’ve read over and over again?

~~~

I’d have to say my most read/re-read books (my copies of these are literally falling apart now) are:

The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle
The Perilous Gard by Elizabeth Pope
Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke
A Room with a View by E. M. Forster
The Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin
Dragonsong by Anne McCaffrey

(Look at that! 4 out of 6 are lady authors. Woot.)

-Susan Dennard

~~~

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Nancy Drew & Hardy Boys: Secrets of the Nile by Carolyn Keene
The Atonement Child by Francine Rivers
Kissed by an Angel by Elizabeth Chandler
The entire Cheney Duvall series by Lynn & Gilbert Morris
The Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper

So I tend to reread children’s books when I’m bored. Sue me :-p

-Sammy Bina

~~~

I reread tons of books because I didn’t have a lot of them as a kid so read each one like 10 times, haha.

THE GOLDEN COMPASS by Philip Pullman
ENDER’S GAME by Orson Scott Card
SABRIEL by Garth Nix
GREEN ANGEL by Alice Hoffman
DRAGONFLIGHT by Anne McCaffrey
THE AMULET OF SAMARKAND by Jonathan Stroud

ONE CHILD by Torey Hayden

-Kat Zhang

~~~

The Chronicles of Prydain (all five!) By Lloyd Alexander
The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle
Sabriel by Garth Nix
The Black Jewels Trilogy by Anne Bishop
Wit’ch Fire by James Clemens
Alphabet of Thorn by Patricia A. McKillip
The Golden Compass/His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman

-Sarah J. Maas

~~~

There are some books that I reread SO often and looks so old and worn (but I love reading them). They are:

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Sabriel by Garth Nix
The entire Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith
His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman

The Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce

-Vanessa Campbell

~~~

Gosh… there’s so many that I’ve reread and reread… a short list of old favorites:
Rant, by Chuck Palahniuk
World War Z by Max Brooks
Beloved by Toni Morrison
Dealing with Dragons, by Patricia Wrede
Maniac Magee, by Jerry Spinelli
The BFG by Roald Dahl
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
The Time-Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris
The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
The Phantom Tollbooth by Juster Norton
Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Euginedes

Recently discovered books I think I’ll be rereading forever:

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
In the Forests of Serre by Patricia McKillip
Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott
The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley

Game of Thrones by G. R. R. Martin
-Savannah J. Foley
~~~
I rarely reread books, but if its been several years I will revisit them! Among the few:The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi

Hatchet by Gary Paulsen

Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

And

Z for Zachariah by Robert C O’Brien

And that, literally, is it!

-Mandy Hubbard
~~~
My most often re-read are:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

The first three Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling
The Mummy Case by Elizabeth Peters
Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien
-Jenn Fitzgerald
~~~
What are the books you’ve read again and again?
19 Responses to “QOTW: Books You Read Again and Again”

  1. Tim May 27, 2011 at 8:36 AM #

    Game of thrones

    Sabrial (reading Abhorsen as a break from my studies. Oh Hedge you devious man-thing)

    Wheel Of Time

    That’s really all. Which is kind of strange since I re-read more than I actually read.

    From re-reading Sabrial i’ve realised that a)Rogir was completly mad and 2) Spoilerish for Abhorsen: He was more powerful than a Bright Shiner:O Dunno why just got a shock when I realised that.

  2. cheyennehill May 27, 2011 at 8:43 AM #

    Awesome picks, thanks for sharing! I definitely need to get off my butt and read some Game of Thrones I think. So many of these are the same as mine… the “biggies” like Lord of the Rings (which I’m re-reading for the goodness-knows-how-many time), Harry Potter (of course they all needed to be re-read before each new film release ;).

    Woohoo for the Patricia C. Wrede shout-out! My favourite is Talking To Dragons, since that was the first book in the series I read, but I loved how going back and reading the first 3 just underscored how awesome the last one was 🙂

    To add to this fantastic list:

    Blue Moon Rising – Simon R. Green. All Harry Potter and Tolkien aside, my hands-down favourite book EVER. It lead to my insane love affair with all of SRG’s books.

    Deathstalker (and the entire series) – Simon R. Green. Incredible space opera, complete with sarcastic and independent redhead Hazel D’Ark, ex-clonelegger and avoider of romance 😉

    Redeeming Love – Francine Rivers. So moving and inspiring.

    Phantom – Susan Kay. Only other Phantom of the Opera-related story I’ve read apart from the original, but research seemed very detailed and yes, I was a cheesy Phantom-nerd from about 8th grade onward.

    Notes From a Small Island – Bill Bryson. No, it’s not fiction, but it’s hilarious and reminds me why I love living in Britain.

    Bridget Jones’ Diary – Helen Fielding.

    And I have a collection of children’s books that I do pull off the shelf when I feel homesick 🙂

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio May 30, 2011 at 2:38 PM #

      Never heard of Blue Moon Rising, but now I feel the urge to go check it out!

  3. Vanessa Di Gregorio May 27, 2011 at 9:45 AM #

    Can I just say that I find it incredibly amusing to see myself as “Vanessa Campbell”? Did my husband bribe any of you for that? Hahaha ❤

    • Savannah J. Foley May 27, 2011 at 9:46 AM #

      Lol I can change it if you want! I was going through and couldn’t remember which one you wanted to go by, so I went with married name… If I had read your post yesterday I would have remembered you were still using di Gregorio but I didn’t read it until this morning.

      • Vanessa Di Gregorio May 27, 2011 at 10:14 AM #

        Haha, no worries, we can keep it! I suppose I’m making it complicated by going by my married name, but ALSO going by my maiden name. 😛

  4. Angelica May 27, 2011 at 10:12 AM #

    Oh I love reading and re-reading books and I have so many.

    The Balefire Quartet by Cate Tiernan
    The Sweep Series by Cate Tiernan (all 14 books)
    The Song of the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce
    The Wild Magic Quartet by Tamora Pierce
    Kissed by an Angel by Elizabeth Chandler (not recently)
    Sirena by Donna Jo Napoli (not recently)
    The Chronicles of Faerie Quartet by OR Melling

    And new books that I’m bound to read again;
    Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austin
    Heat Wave by “Richard Castle”

    • Tim May 27, 2011 at 10:50 AM #

      Oh are those Richard Castle books any good? I love the show, but I didn’t really want to chance the books.

  5. Marina May 27, 2011 at 12:39 PM #

    The Song of the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce
    Protector of the Small Quartet by Tamora Pierce
    Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer (only the first three or so)
    Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
    Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton
    Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling (because Sirius is my favorite)

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio May 27, 2011 at 3:59 PM #

      YES! Book 3 of HP is my absolute FAVE!

      (Also, Protector of the Small Quartet should totally be on my list of fave rereads!)

      And I read Artemis Fowl YEARS ago and rememeber loving it. Maybe I should reread it, since I don’t remember a lot of it!

      • Marina May 27, 2011 at 4:52 PM #

        Yeah, and I should read the other quartets by Tamora Pierce.

        Btw, Artemis Fowl is now up to book seven or eight, but the coolness factor has gone done a little.

        • Vanessa Di Gregorio May 30, 2011 at 2:34 PM #

          I can’t remember which number I read up to. 3? 4? But the first book was my fave. Not sure why I just stopped reading the series – though if it started going downhill, maybe that’s why.

          And you really, really should! Start reading the Song of the Lioness Quartet! You’ll LOVE it!

  6. Brandi May 27, 2011 at 1:30 PM #

    Definitely the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce. Her Circle of Magic series too. And then HARPO SPEAKS, an autobiography by Harpo Marx with Rowland Barber that cracks me up every time I read it.

    I just finished Garth Nix’s Abhorsen on Tuesday and I think a part of me died lol I LOVED that series. A reread in the future for sure.

    Have a great weekend, ladies!

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio May 30, 2011 at 2:36 PM #

      AHHH, I KNOW, right? GOD I love the Abhorsen trilogy!!

      I’ve never heard of HARPO SPEAKS – I’m intrigued now! I’ll have to go look it up.

      Thanks Brandi – Hope you had an awesome weekend 😀

  7. Susan H. May 27, 2011 at 7:19 PM #

    The Far Pavilions
    by M.M. Kaye

    Every couple of years I dig out this book and return to India in my mind.

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio May 30, 2011 at 2:37 PM #

      I’ve never heard of that, but now I need to go look it up!

  8. Maya May 28, 2011 at 8:49 AM #

    I gotta say you all have an excellent taste in books! 🙂

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio May 30, 2011 at 2:37 PM #

      Why thank you!

      I think it’s amazing how similar all our tastes in books are! (Must be why we all get along so well! :P)

Comments are closed.

