QOTW: Favorite Fictional World

3 Jun

If you could live in the world of another book, which one would you choose?

~~~

I’ve always thought that if I could live in any world it would be the one I invented in NAMELESS, but if we’re looking to external fiction… gosh, there are so many options. Definitely something with magic. Harry Potter, but only if I got to be a wizard. If I had to be a normal person, I guess Ella Enchanted, or the Eyre Affair! Or In the Forests of Serre.

~~~

Growing up, I wanted desperately to live in Dinotopia.  Then as I got older, it was Pern and Hogwarts.

And, also, even though it’s not from a book, I’d really like to live in the Four Nations from the TV show Avatar. I’d totally be an air bender (and I claim Zuko as mine)

~~~

I definitely wanted a letter from Hogwarts on my 11th birthday! (Come on, who didn’t?) but I’m with Sav – I’d only want to live in the HP world as a witch. Otherwise I might be very stereotypical and opt for Middle Earth. Just so I could see the elves…

~~~

Which one would you choose?

23 Responses to “QOTW: Favorite Fictional World”

  1. Josh June 3, 2011 at 7:38 PM #

    Dinotopia was for sure my choice when I was a kid. Now I think it would have to be Alagaesia from Paolini’s Eragon. I’d love to be a dragon rider!

    • savannahjfoley June 4, 2011 at 9:17 AM #

      You know, I was thinking about Dinotopia, but dinosaurs don’t do it for me as much as dragons do…

      • Susan June 4, 2011 at 9:59 AM #

        Which is why I later got so obsessed with Pern… From a world of dinosaurs to world of dragons. 😀

  2. Darcy Drake June 3, 2011 at 7:49 PM #

    I’m on the Dinotopia-as-a-kid boat! Now? I’d have to agree about the Four Nations in A:TLA, but only if I could be a Fire Bender.

    • Susan June 4, 2011 at 9:58 AM #

      Sweeeeet! You can be a fire bender–that’s fine. 😀

  3. Glaiza June 3, 2011 at 7:49 PM #

    Without a doubt – Hogwarts 🙂 Though I wouldn’t mind living in Lyra’s world if I had a daemon – it would be so much fun to explore places with one. My other favourite world would be Obernewtyn but it’s not the safest place to live in if I had powers lol.

    • savannahjfoley June 4, 2011 at 9:18 AM #

      Yup, Lyra’s world would be pretty cool if only for the daemon. I dunno though, as an adult I think the constant company might be kind of taxing…

  4. Ashley June 3, 2011 at 8:32 PM #

    Do comic book worlds count?

    I really wanted to be an X-men, at one point. Still haven’t decided what mutant power I want, though. 🙂

    • savannahjfoley June 4, 2011 at 9:19 AM #

      Ahh, an X-Men!!! Yeah, super powers in our world is totally awesome.

    • Susan June 4, 2011 at 9:59 AM #

      Heck yeah! I SO wanted to be an X-men. I had the hots for Gambit. 😉

      • Ashley June 4, 2011 at 4:15 PM #

        Gambit and Wolverine made the comics and shows for me. Let’s not even mention the films…*fans herself* 😉

  5. Emy Shin June 3, 2011 at 9:41 PM #

    If I get to be a witch — Hogwarts, definitely.

    As myself, I’d love to live in a nice futuristic world. Maybe Star Trek? Where I can serve on the Enterprise, but NOT as a red shirt.

    • savannahjfoley June 4, 2011 at 9:19 AM #

      Tooootally forgot about Star Trek… that world, definitely. Spaceships, visiting other planets, meeting alien races… THE HOLODECK!!!! Definitely a good choice.

  6. Schneider Rancy June 3, 2011 at 11:39 PM #

    Hmm, difficult choice. I’m sort of stuck between three equally impressive ones: the worlds of His Dark Materials, Harry Potter, and Percy Jackson and the Olympians. I wouldn’t object to any of the three. 😀

  7. PS June 4, 2011 at 12:27 AM #

    Susan I ❤ you lol. I wanted to go to Dinotopia too! And I love Avatar!! (the non blue people one…)

    Oddly…I never expected a letter from Hogwarts. I think I was the only one who didn't..

    • savannahjfoley June 4, 2011 at 9:20 AM #

      I kind of expected a letter from Hogwarts… you can actually order them online now. Totally going to do that if I ever have kids.

    • Susan June 4, 2011 at 10:00 AM #

      Seeing as Hogwarts wasn’t invented until I was older, I definitely didn’t expect a letter…

      But WOOT for loving Dinotopia!! ❤

  8. Caitlin June 4, 2011 at 12:40 AM #

    I’m with you, Vee! I’d love to see Middle Earth – although when my friends and I were super obsessed with LOTR in middle school I was always the weirdo who wanted to live in Edoras rather than Rivindell. *shrugs*

    Also, definitely Hogwarts. And I wouldn’t mind living in the Inkworld, either… after the end of Inkdeath, when things get straightened out. 😉

  9. Mac_V June 4, 2011 at 1:55 AM #

    I SO wanted to live in the world of Hogwarts. And I did every chance I got. I re-read the first three books to death. Literally. They fell apart. The summer I turned eleven I checked the mail box every day… going back to school that year sucked.

    I love so many worlds. I think the first one I really got sucked into beside HP was Tortall. I loved Alanna and all of her adventures and the fact that Tamora Pierce kept stories coming from new characters in that same world. Tortall is definitely close to my heart.

    Also, I agree with Sooz. The Four Nations would be awesome. I think I would want to be a water bender, though. And I already have a Sokka. (No joke. Watched the show with my boyfriend and you know that one episode where some guys make a stupid joke at Katara and there’s this silence? My boyfriend laughs and goes “that was funny, I have to remember that!” and then Sokka laughs, says “that was funny, I have to remember that!” and I face palmed. So many more moments like that. Sad, but so, so true.

    Mer

    • Susan June 4, 2011 at 10:01 AM #

      HAHAHAHA. I love it. Sokka is HILARIOUS. My favorite episode for humor is the one where he eats the cactus (I think it was cactus?) in the desert and hallucinates. AWESOME.

      And heck yeah to Tortall! I totally forgot that one. 😀

      • Mac_V June 4, 2011 at 10:53 PM #

        I need to watch it again! I watched it all twice through last summer and I just want to throw myself into that world again. I miss it. And the series is completely flushed out. I hate when there’s so much more the series could do and you’re left wanting more or with pieces left out of the puzzle that are just forgotten about. I think everything but Zuko’s mother are tied off in Avatar which is absolutely AWESOME.

  10. Bee June 4, 2011 at 9:09 AM #

    It’s a tie between Narnia and the HP world for me. Nothing comes close to them.

    • savannahjfoley June 4, 2011 at 9:21 AM #

      Narnia!!! Yup, that would be a neat one as well.

Comments are closed.

