QOTW: Whose writer’s shoes would you want to fill?

1 Jul

This week’s question is from Marina, who asks:

Marina If you could fill one writer’s, living or dead, shoes for one day, who would you choose? And why?

~~~

I’m not so interested in filling shoes as… filling minds. I would looove to be able to see inside some of the thought processes of my favorite authors. Starting with Anne Rice, because I’ve been on an Anne Rice kick lately. How does she come up with those huge, complex plots? From where does she pull inspiration for those detailed descriptions of houses, restaurants, and hotel rooms? I’d love to be there on her shoulder observing as she writes. Other writers whose processes I’m curious about are Chuck Palahniuk and Toni Morrison. I just want to know how they think. But, as for the original question… probably J. K. Rowling. Just to see what she does day-to-day. 🙂

Savannah Foley

~~~

I’m with Sav here, I’d more just want to experience how they think. And one would probably be Tolkien. The reason is incredibly nerdy; it’s not particularly because of LOTR, but just because of his freaking mind. He was a medievalist and knew a bunch of dead languages like Old Norse and Old English which is how he created the language in LOTR, and I would love to have that knowledge at my disposal. (Of course, actually learning them is probably a bit more realistic :P). Also, Neil Gaiman. I adore his sense of humour and the way it’s conveyed through his writing style, and he just seems like an all-around awesome person.

Biljana Likic

~~~

What a tough question!  I don’t know that there’s a single writer whose shoes I’d want to fill–I mean, I’m pretty happy in my own shoes.  That said, there are quite a few I’d want to hang out with!

Ursula K. Le Guin would be number 1. She’s led such a fascinating life, her novels are some of my all time favorites, and she just seems so…grumpy–in a good way.  Plus, the fact that she also gave up her PhD and married a Frenchman–I’ve always been convinced this means we’d get along. 😉

I’d also love to jam with Neil Gaiman (or Billy-as-Gaiman–ha!), Kurt Vonnegut, and E.M. Forster… Oh, and I bet George R. R. Martin is pretty entertaining!

Susan Dennard

~~~

Savannah stole mine — I was totally going to say JKR!  Essentially, she’s the most awesome person on the planet. After all these years, and all the fame she’s gotten, she’s still incredibly humble and down to earth. Have you guys seen the commencement speech she did for Harvard a few years back? It’s one of the greatest things I’ve had the privilege to witness, even if it was only via YouTube. Not only is she creative beyond compare, an incredible writer, and absolutely gorgeous, she’s funny. She’s charming. And she’s got a huge heart. That’s the kind of writer I’d like to be someday.

Sammy Bina

~~~

Any writer’s whose shoes you’d want to fill?

3 Responses to “QOTW: Whose writer’s shoes would you want to fill?”

  1. Jessi July 1, 2011 at 5:46 PM #

    Susan- any recs for must read Ursula K. LeGuin books? I read The Beginning Place earlier this year and didn’t love it all that much, but I’ve heard so much about her from so many authors that I’d like to give her work another try.

  2. Susan H. July 1, 2011 at 9:06 PM #

    Harper Lee

    I find her fascinating. Wouldn’t it be interesting to go back in time as she creates her masterpiece?

  3. Allie July 1, 2011 at 11:06 PM #

    Hmmm… That is a tough one. But I think I’d like to fill the shoes of Ayn Rand. I don’t know what it us, but I just love her writings. I think I’d just like to live her life to find out what inspired her to write.

    I am a feminist and I’d like to know what it would be like to make my way in a field that was mainly male dominated. She also in a way spoke out about what some people were afraid to even think about. She has always been one of my favorites.

Comments are closed.

