Happy Halloween!!!

31 Oct

HAPPY HALLOWEEN, EVERYONE!

~~~

For many of us at LTWF, Halloween is our favorite-favorite-favorite holiday! The costumes, the mythology…the CANDY!

So, in honor of one of our  most beloved holidays, we thought we’d share some of the urban legends/myths/novels that scare us the most! From ancient folklore to modern-day tales of horror, what truly terrifies us is as diverse as the LTWF community itself!

And we want to know: what stories/legends/books chill YOU to the bone?

Have a spectacularly scary (…and yummy!) Halloween!!!

~~~

 For me, the folklore surrounding Baba Yaga has always scared the bejeezus out of me. Old lady with IRON TEETH living in the wilderness, preying on unsuspecting travelers? Yikes. And her house…Oh, that house. It’s not enough for it to be a creepy-ass hut, but a hut on CHICKEN’S LEGS? Plus a fence made of human bones? Talk about petrifying. And then Baba Yaga herself is totally unpredictable–you’ll never know if she’ll help you…or eat you.

I could probably talk for hours about the symbolism of Baba Yaga and her connections to ancient religions, BUT…let’s just say that I both fear and love her (and love/fear her enough that various incarnations of her have made their way into several of my novels, including the QUEEN OF GLASS series). I can’t remember how old I was when I stumbled across Marianna Mayer and K. Y. Craft’s retelling of “Vasilisa The Brave,” but this illustration (see right…or a bigger version here) of Baba Yaga has haunted my dreams (and nightmares) for a long, long while.

-Sarah J. Maas

~~

 I know mine’s the CURSE OF CAMP COLD LAKE.

Biljana Likic

(OKAY, I (Sarah J. Maas) have to interject here. SO, when I was really young and totally obsessed with GOOSEBUMPS, my parents went to my school’s annual fundraising auction. R. L. Stein’s kids happened to go to my school, and one of the auction items was to have your kids’ names in his next GOOSEBUMPS book. And guess who won. So, me and my brother are the protagonists of CURSE OF CAMP COLD LAKE. And, in case you were wondering, I die at the end of the novel. A horrible, horrible death.)

~~

 I think Ted’s Caving Page really got me. I stayed up for hours reading that, and then couldn’t have the blinds open in my house for weeks! I still think of those pictures, and the horror of the climax. It was truly disturbing.

It also made me go on a spelunking bender, lol. Like I’ve said in writing about zombies, I’m totally drawn to my fears and try to transform them into something enjoyable.

-Savannah Foley

~~

 I’d have to say THE SHINING by Stephen King. Honestly – that book TERRIFIED me!

-Vanessa DiGregorio

~~

 I’m going old school on this one — Edgar Allan Poe. THE MASQUE OF THE RED DEATH and THE CASK OF AMONTILLADO always scared the hell out of me.

-Sammy Bina

~~

 HOUSE OF LEAVES by Mark Z. Danielewski.

That book scarred me for life.

Susan Dennard

~~

 SCARY STORIES TO TELL IN THE DARK, not the scariest thing I’ve ever read, but it scared the crap out of me as a kid, so of course I kept re-reading it.

-Jennifer Fitzgerald

~~


I think I would have to say Mary Shelley’s FRANKENSTEIN. Though it isn’t the “make you jump” kind of scary, it has a creepiness that has never left me!

-Julie Eshbaugh

9 Responses to “Happy Halloween!!!”

  1. Nicole Blanchard October 31, 2011 at 12:12 AM #

    I totally adore good ‘ole Christopher Pike novels. ❤

    Happy Halloween!

    (Sidenote, it's 11:11 p.m. Make a wish!)

  2. Julie Eshbaugh October 31, 2011 at 12:12 AM #

    Sarah, I am running out to buy a copy of THE CURSE OF CAMP COLD LAKE right away! I can’t wait to see how the “Sarah” character dies! 🙂

  3. Nicole Blanchard October 31, 2011 at 12:22 AM #

    P.S. Just read synopsis for THE CURSE OF CAMP COLD LAKE and omg! LOL awesome. Poor Sarah.

  4. Biljana October 31, 2011 at 12:52 AM #

    In all seriousness now (lol) I’m going to have to agree with Sav that “Ted’s Caving Page” is….ALKSDFJALSKDJFALKDJF so good and creepy. I don’t like thinking about it this late at night haha so all you guys are getting is obnoxious allcaps gibberish.

  5. Tim October 31, 2011 at 7:41 AM #

    The story of Bloody Mary definetly scared the bejeezus out of me when I was younger:P
    Also, any book I read in the Charlie Parker series is preety spooky. Awesome series though:O

    • Julie Eshbaugh October 31, 2011 at 8:23 AM #

      Hey Tim! The Bloody Mary story really scared me too! It seemed to get more scary with every sleep-over I went to LOL. 🙂

  6. Kat Zhang October 31, 2011 at 11:42 AM #

    I love how I read about “Sarah” in THE CURSE OF CAMP COLD LAKE years and years before I actually met her, haha. Even funnier in that that was probably one of 4 Goosebump books I’ve ever read. I hated scary stories 😛

  7. Aurora Blackguard October 31, 2011 at 2:49 PM #

    HANDS DOWN It’s Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. I WILL NEVER see circuses the same ever again

Comments are closed.

