NaNoWriMo Live Blog Tomorrow! And you’re invited!

3 Nov

(depending on where you live, this might actually be happening…I dunno, today. Don’t look at me to calculate timezones :P)

ETA: Alright, this is Kat here going to bed, so I won’t be updating this until tomorrow morning. Just assume everyone’s started, lol. Either Sav or I will do a fresh post tomorrow with the list and such. Good night! Happy writing!

ETA: Most of us have started now!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Edit from Savannah: I made a Twitter list so if you’re on Twitter you can follow other writers participating tomorrow as we cheer each other on (or try to psych each other out, as Kat and I will be doing!). You can view and follow the list here! @ me if you’d like to be added! Tomorrow let’s use the hashtag #ltwfwordwar for our live-blog-related tweets!

ETA: We’re getting closer to the start time for those of you in Europe, I believe (again, timezones…don’t ask me), and I’m really excited about the great group we’ve got going! Anyone is free to request to be added anytime, even if the 4th has already started where you are. Just comment below!ย 

I do want to remind everyone, though, that part of the reason we’re doing this is to get everyone writing as a group and provide encouragement to one another. So please, please, whether or not you’re participating as a writer, visit the blogs in the list below and say something nice! (unless you’re Sav or me….we’re allowed to be mean to one another ;P) This is not the time to be shy. I really hope that by the end of the day, everyone has gathered up a nice chain of comments cheering them on. For sure, I’ll be making the rounds and leaving notes as much as I can!! ๐Ÿ™‚

So even if you’re in the US and are behind the people in Europe (or poor Jessica alone in Australia, lol..), go say nice things!! It’s good writing karma. Really.

Hey guys, Kat here! So, how’s everyone doing with their NaNo writing? I’ve heard of some people already hitting 25k, which is RIDICULOUS, I tell you. RIDICULOUS ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyway, I dunno if you guys saw the writing war that Beth Revis and Stephanie Perkins did a little while back, but we here at LTWF thought it was pretty awesome and fun, so we decided to shamelessly steal borrow their idea for NaNo! Hopefully, they won’t mind, cause we think they’re awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

The difference between their liveblog and this one, however, is that we’re inviting all of you!

So this is how it works (you can click on the links above to Beth and Stephanie’s blogs if you want an idea of how theirs looked like)

Savannah and I are both in US Central time, so we’ll be starting in the morning of that timezone…whenever we get up, haha. We’re waiting to see if any other LTWF folks throw down the gauntlet, but at the very least, Sav and I (Kat!) will be doing this for sure for just about the WHOLE DAY. We’ll be posting updates on our own, private blogs (you can find the links in the right-hand sidebar) every so often…as well as talking about what’s distracting us, haha.

But you, dear readers–we’re inviting YOU to join the great writing war! It doesn’t matter what time zone you’re in. You’ll just get a head start on us or get to stay up later! Post in the comments if you want to join the great End Of Week One NaNo Word War, with a link to your blog and your word count goal (if you’d like, tell us your time zone, too), and we’ll add you to the enlistment list here. Then tomorrow, we can all check out each other’s progress, leave each other sassy and sarcastic encouraging comments, and so on!

Any questions? ๐Ÿ˜€

Enlistment List (please see note in blue at top of post):

1. Kat Zhangย – Word Goal: 6,000 (US Central time)ย <–Has started!!

2. Savannah Foleyย – Word Goal: 10,000!!!!ย (US Central time)

3. Jessica Lewendaย – Word Goal: 8,000 (Australia) <–It’s the 4th there, so already started!

4. Brittany Severnย – Word Goal: 3,000

5. Amanda – Word Goal: 4,000 (US Eastern time)

6. Kae – Word Goal: 3,000-4,000 (US Eastern time)ย <–Has started!

7. Heather – Word Goal: 15,000 (UK) Kat’s note: I know folks, I’m scared, too ๐Ÿ˜‰ย <–Has started!

8. Ellen – Word Goal: 3,000-4,000 (US Central time)ย <–Has started!

9. Ashelynn Hetland – Word Goal: 5,000 (US Mountain time)

10. Kayleigh – Word Goal: 2,777 (France)ย <–Has started!

11. Julie Fisher – Word Goal: 4,000 (UK)ย <–Has started!

12. Katelyn – Word Goal: 3,500 (US Central time)

13. Adeeti Goswami – Word Goal: 3,000 (US Pacific time)

Anyone else?? LTWF wants YOU for the Word War!!

54 Responses to “NaNoWriMo Live Blog Tomorrow! And you’re invited!”

  1. Susan November 3, 2011 at 10:16 AM #

    Let’s DO THIS. I’m not gonna put it on my blog, but I am SO GONNA COME PESTER EVERYONE ON THEIRS.

    And I’m gonna win. Just wait and see.

    • savannahjfoley November 3, 2011 at 10:21 AM #

      You can’t win if you’re not officially participating!! ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 10:37 AM #

      Exactly!! No winning unless you participate ๐Ÿ˜‰

      (we all just know Sooz would totally kill us all if she did participate…)

  2. Jessica Lewenda (@jlewenda) November 3, 2011 at 10:23 AM #

    That’s an awesome idea. I’m totally down for that.
    Though, in Australia, it’s already 1am Friday, so I guess I’d better get a move on ๐Ÿ˜›
    My blog can be found here: http://jlewenda.livejournal.com/ and my word goal is 8,000 words.

    • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 10:36 AM #

      Awesome!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • savannahjfoley November 3, 2011 at 11:05 AM #

      Sweet! I will totally be checking up on you throughout the day!

      • Brittany Severn (@almostbritain) November 3, 2011 at 12:16 PM #

        I was planning on doing this tomorrow anyway, but to link up with others will make it even more fun!

        My blog is http://almostbritain.blogspot.com

        I’ll have two kids to help with tomorrow, so I’ll set my goal low at 3,000 words.

        • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 12:20 PM #

          Hooray! If you’d like, let us know which time zone you’re in, so people know about what time you’ll be starting, and we can see how many continents we can cover ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Amanda November 3, 2011 at 12:42 PM #

    Count me in, too! I have work and class (and the weekly shopping to do) tomorrow, so I’m going to set a goal of 4,000 words.

    My blog is: anvantastic.wordpress.com and I’m in US Eastern time!

    • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 12:47 PM #

      Awesome, Amanda!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Kae November 3, 2011 at 12:57 PM #

    oooo~ So much fun!! I’m in. : D
    3500-4000 for moi, I think. I’m behind. Very behind. Now to go pester the co-writer…> D

    We will hopefully both be doing it here: http://www.thegildedpage.wordpress.com

    And I am in EST. : D Both of us are.

    • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 1:04 PM #

      Hoorah!! Go forth and pester, soldier! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Heather Milton November 3, 2011 at 1:02 PM #

    Time zones confuse me. Is this on Friday the 4th? Because I was planning on shooting for 20k on Saturday but I have school tomorrow… would it be irresponsible of me to skip school so I can pwn you all with my epicness?
    (I’m sorry, NaNo turns me into a competitive egomaniac, I’ll feel bad about that later XD)

    • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 1:07 PM #

      Haha, where are you? Here in the US central time zone, it’s 12pm Thursday, November 3rd. So yes, the live blog would be tomorrow, Friday, November 4th. It is a school day…and I technically have class, too, but it’s a light day for me.

      Considering your epicness, I think you could beat us all even with attending class ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Jessica Lewenda (@jlewenda) November 3, 2011 at 1:13 PM #

        Heather, it’s only the 3rd day and you’re already over halfway there. It would be completely unfair for you to skip school and get even more ahead. ๐Ÿ˜›

      • Heather Milton November 3, 2011 at 1:24 PM #

        Thanks, apparently I don’t understand time xP
        I’m in the UK, and I’ll aim for 15k ๐Ÿ™‚
        …unless someone else aims higher, in which case I am morally compelled to beat them.

        • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 1:44 PM #

          We have the world’s most awesome readers.

          That is all.

          ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • savannahjfoley November 3, 2011 at 7:29 PM #

      Confession: Sometimes I would stay home from school to work on one of my novels. I can’t morally encourage you to skip school, however (and would be horrified if anyone ever did!). Just confessing ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Mitsu November 3, 2011 at 1:41 PM #

    Oh, it’s a Friday, I’ll be working all day ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Good luck everyone !

    • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 1:42 PM #

      Next time, we’ll do it on a weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Ellen November 3, 2011 at 2:12 PM #

    Brilliant idea guys! I’m totally game.

    I’m going to aim for 3000-4000 as well, just because tomorrow’s Friday and–work and one class aside–I don’t intend to do much else.

    I’m US central time and my blog is irisflower81.livejournal.com

    • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 2:43 PM #

      Fantastic! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Ashelynn Hetland November 3, 2011 at 5:21 PM #

    ooh, bring it on!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    5,000 http://agypsywriter.blogspot.com/

  9. Ashelynn Hetland November 3, 2011 at 5:21 PM #

    oh, and i’m in US mountain time. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 5:35 PM #

      Embarrassingly, I tend to forget there’s a US mountain time, hahaha ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m glad you’re joining us, though!!

  10. kayleighskaleidoscope November 3, 2011 at 5:43 PM #

    Despite having classes from 8 to 3, I’m gonna do this. Maybe I can wake up earlier? Knowing myself, that probably won’t happen.

    Blog: http://kayleighskaleidoscope.wordpress.com/

    Goal: 2777 (so I can hit personal NaNo goal of 4000–overall goal is 30k)

    Time zone: France

    -Kayleigh

    • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 5:48 PM #

      Yay! You’ve pushed us into the double digits ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. julieffisher November 3, 2011 at 6:34 PM #

    I didn’t have plans for tomorrow did I? Well, I don’t anymore! I’ll be posting my live blog at http://fromjuliewithmixedfeelings.wordpress.com/ and I’m hoping to reach 4,000 words. I’m on UK time, so will probably be starting in a couple of hours…eek!

    • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 7:06 PM #

      Yay! Good luck!! I’ll be round to say hello ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Chele November 3, 2011 at 9:41 PM #

    I’ve got work all day today so I can’t join, just dropping by to wish everyone luck! I’ll be stalking the twitter feed ;D

    -cough- I mean, I’ll be working very very very hard, of course I will…

    • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 10:07 PM #

      Haha, thank you!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Katelyn L November 3, 2011 at 10:01 PM #

    I don’t have a blog, but I love the motivation this will give me, and I’ll definitely pop into other people’s blogs to give some encouragement. I’ve got a class and test tomorrow (physics is a horrible, horrible thing), but put me down for 3,500. That’ll get me back on track for NaNo (I fell behind because I had to study. I repeat, physics is a horrible, horrible thing).

    This is such an exciting idea! I love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Kat Zhang November 3, 2011 at 10:04 PM #

      Omg. Physics. I commiserate. So much.

      Adding you now!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Katelyn L November 3, 2011 at 10:13 PM #

        Oh, and I’m central time too ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Katelyn L November 3, 2011 at 10:31 PM #

          Lol, and I hooked myself up with a Twitter just for this. I’m clearly quite excited. I’m Katelyn Larson over there. ๐Ÿ™‚

          • savannahjfoley November 3, 2011 at 10:34 PM #

            Hi Katelyn,

            What’s your username?

          • savannahjfoley November 3, 2011 at 10:37 PM #

            nvm, found you!

            Basics of Twitter: Put the @symbol before someone’s username and when they view their @mentions tab it will show them what you said.

            You have to view someone’s profile and click ‘follow’ for their tweets to appear in your feed.

            If people follow you who are spammers, you can block them by viewing their profile, clicking on the avatar icon on the right, and clicking Block in the drop-down menu.

            I’ve added you to a List. Basically anyone can form a List to classify the different people you follow. For example, on my Twitter account, I have a private one for people I personally know, so I can look at that list instead of my feed, where I might have people I followed back just to be polite. I added you to a list on the @ltwfblog account (the link at the top of this post). If you click on that list you can click ‘follow list’ using a button there.

            Then, when you’re on your homepage, you can click on Lists, and click on the LTWF Word War list in the drop down menu and see people on that list.

            Let me know if you need any help!

            • Katelyn L November 3, 2011 at 11:05 PM #

              Thanks for the rundown, Savannah. I’ve been lurking on Twitter for awhile, but that definitely helped. ๐Ÿ™‚ Especially with the list stuff. That’s something I didn’t understand at all. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Adeeti Goswami November 4, 2011 at 1:21 AM #

    If it’s not too late, I’d like to join! Deal me in for 3,000, US Pacific time =)

    • Kat Zhang November 4, 2011 at 1:27 AM #

      Never too late! You’re up there ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. MD Irvine November 4, 2011 at 1:46 AM #

    Oh I didn’t understand the date this was happening but after reading comments I figured that it’s on a friday. Too bad. I will be working all day. Good luck ! I’ll be cheering you guys on ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Kat Zhang November 4, 2011 at 4:26 PM #

      Thanks!!

  16. Adeeti November 4, 2011 at 5:55 AM #

    This is terribly nitpicky of me, but could I have my blog link changed from the livejournal one to the blogspot one attached to this comment?

    • Kat Zhang November 4, 2011 at 10:44 AM #

      Done! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Asia Morela November 4, 2011 at 9:02 AM #

    I’m very late, but all things considered I’d also like to join! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I’m not going to be writing all day, but I still hope (and will try) to reach 3,000 words, as well as drop in a few words to you guys. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m in Canada Eastern Time, and my blog is http://asiamorela.wordpress.com

    • Kat Zhang November 4, 2011 at 10:44 AM #

      You’re up there! ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Savannah J. Foley » Blog Archive » I’m live-blogging tomorrow with other writers! And you’re invited! - November 3, 2011

    […] You can read about what this live blog consists of and see other participants here! […]

  2. “It’s a very groovy mutation.” « Kayleigh's Kaleidoscope - November 3, 2011

    […] tomorrow, I’m doing this crazy thing:ย https://letthewordsflow.wordpress.com/2011/11/03/nanowrimo-live-blog-tomorrow/ LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

  3. NaNoWriMo Live Blogging « Kayleigh's Kaleidoscope - November 3, 2011

    […] Link explaining madness: https://letthewordsflow.wordpress.com/2011/11/03/nanowrimo-live-blog-tomorrow/ […]

  4. My (Possibly) Epic NaNoWriMo Live Blog « From Julie With Mixed Feelings - November 3, 2011

    […] If you don’t know what the premise of this is, then scroll down the my last post orย visit the challenge postย on Let The Words […]

  5. Savannah J. Foley » Blog Archive » NaNoWriMo Live Blog Word War! - November 4, 2011

    […] Read this post to understand what’s going on here.ย Essentially I and several writer friends are live blogging all day with our insane word count goals and progress! […]

  6. NaNoWriMo Live Blog – LTWF Word War!! « Writing for keeps - November 4, 2011

    […] and Kat from Let the Words Flow have been advertising their word war and inviting everyone to join since yesterday, but I […]

  7. LTWF Live Blog Word War for NaNoWriMo Begins! « Let The Words Flow - November 4, 2011

    […] yesterday’s post for the low-down! Here’s a […]

  8. Live Blog Word War « Sophie Fulcen - November 13, 2011

    […] nouvelle : inspirรฉes par l’initiative de Let the words flow, nous avons dรฉcidรฉ avec Asia Morela Asia Morela de nous lancer dans une Live Blog Word War toute […]

Comments are closed.

