Saturday Grab Bag: New This Month and Mashup

8 May

~~~

NEW RELEASES!

Mistwood by Leah Cypess

Everyone tells Isabel that she is the Shifter – the ancient shape-shifting creature who has protected the kings of Samorna for centuries. They need her to be the Shifter. Prince Rokan risked everything when he rode into the Mistwood to summon her to his side; Ven, the magician’s apprentice, has devoted his life to studying her legend; and even Princess Clarisse, who fears and hates her, depends on Isabel’s powers to further her own plans.

But Isabel doesn’t feel like the Shifter. She feels like a lonely human girl, beset by flashes of memory that do more to confuse than to help her. If she is the Shifter, why can’t she change her shape? Why doesn’t she remember what made her flee the castle so many years ago? As she is drawn deeper into a web of magic and assassination, Isabel will have no choice but to look for answers. But her search will lead her to the one question the Shifter hasn’t faced in a thousand years: where does she come from, and what does she really want?

Contributor Comments:

Sarah J. Maas: I am SO freaking excited to read this book. It has so many elements that I love in high fantasy: strong heroines, great world-building, court intrigue, and PRINCES! Eeee!!! I have a great feeling about this one.

Available now on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Borders

~~~

Whisper by Phoebe Kitanidis

I’d love a cup of coffee. I wish she knew how pretty she was. I wish I could drop this kid in the dryer sometimes. I just want her to be happy. I hope she didn’t find out what Ben said about her. I wish I knew how many calories were in a bite of muffin…

Joy is used to hearing Whispers. She’s used to walking down the street and instantly knowing people’s deepest, darkest desires. She uses this talent for good, to make people happy and give them what they want. But for her older sister, Jessica, the family gift is a curse, and she uses it to make people’s lives—especially Joy’s—miserable. Still, when Joy Hears Jessica whisper: I want to kill my Hearing dead, and kill me too if that’s what it takes, she knows she has to save her sister, even if it means deserting her friends, stealing a car and running away with a boy she barely knows—a boy who may have a dark secret of his own.

Contributor Comments:

Julie Eshbaugh: WHISPER is a debut from a new YA fantasy writer, Phoebe Kitanidis, who has been called a “strong new voice.”  The book has been described as “a refreshingly unpredictable story.”  Sounds exciting!

Available now on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Borders

~~~

Articles You Should Have Already Read

How to Find Your Perfect Agent

Race in Novels: Whitewashing

Starting a Novel in the Wrong Place

Five Books You Need in Your Life

What Font Type Are You?

Reverse Dictionary

Do You Really Need a Publicist?

Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks

Nail Your Novel

Twitter Patrol

Meg Cabot on Being Rejected Every Day for a Year

~~~

What interesting links have you run across this week?

13 Responses to “Saturday Grab Bag: New This Month and Mashup”

  1. Rachel Simon May 8, 2010 at 1:17 AM #

    Just letting you know, MISTWOOD is SO good. I happened to get an ARC and then later meet the author, and I’m a little (re: A LOT) upset there isn’t a sequel; only a companion book. But yeah… MISTWOOD is really, really, really good. And for once, it lacks romance. Which I was strangely okay with.

    • Vanessa May 9, 2010 at 9:40 AM #

      No romance? That must have been refreshing! Everything YA right now is JUST romance. Now I REALLY can’t wait to read it! (Ahahaha, I sound so anti-romance :p)

      • Caitlin May 18, 2010 at 10:20 PM #

        I was going to pass on Mistwood but being a little anti-romance myself right now that sounds like a wonderful breath of fresh air so I think I’ll pick it up for sure.

  2. Kate May 8, 2010 at 8:30 PM #

    Dude, you guys ROCK! I would like to say how much I love the articles that you are posting. I’ve learned so much from them and grown as a writer. Please keep posting things like this! Along with the advice from the LTWF contributors, this blog has everything a writer needs to know. Even a novice one like myself.

    Btw, I bought MISTWOOD the day it came out. I’m just waiting for a sunny day to come along so I can lounge outside and read it. But I’m so freakin’ excited!!

    • Julie Eshbaugh May 8, 2010 at 8:57 PM #

      Kate you ROCK! Thanks for that feedback!!! I’m going to be sure all the contributors to LTWF read it. It’s wonderful to know that readers appreciate what we do and that it is really helping. Thanks so much for telling us! 🙂

    • Vanessa May 9, 2010 at 9:39 AM #

      Thanks Kate! You totally made my day! 😀

      Also, I have an interview coming up with Leah Cypess! (So if you haven’t read MISTWOOD by then, hopefully the interview will hype you up even more!!! :p)

  3. Angela May 9, 2010 at 9:23 AM #

    My to-be-read list has grown higher after reading this post. It will take years to go through the entire list. :/

    But still, this blog is awesome. Whenever I’m in contact with a computer, I immediately check out LTWF to see if there are any new posts.

    • Vanessa May 9, 2010 at 9:43 AM #

      My reading list is MASSIVE. But I like it that way!

      And thanks so much Angela! It’s great, knowing that people like our blog! You’ve officially made my day!!! 😀

  4. Myra May 9, 2010 at 1:08 PM #

    Linking the Best. Peptalk. EVER.

    http://cba-ramblings.blogspot.com/2010/02/where-rubber-meets-road.html

    Well, at least, the best one I’ve ever come across. It’s especially useful when you’re thiiisclose to giving up.

    • Vanessa May 9, 2010 at 7:14 PM #

      That’s such a great blog post! Thanks for sharing! 😀

  5. Kat Zhang May 9, 2010 at 3:04 PM #

    I’ve just read the first three chapters of MISTWOOD online, and now I really want the rest of it!

  6. Judy May 9, 2010 at 4:30 PM #

    Love all the links that you posted, especially the one about Meg Cabot and her rejections! It’s amazing to think that even someone who has sold so many books and who has tons of fans had to go through the same process as everyone else.

    Those new releases also look amazing. Can’t wait to pick them up.

    Thanks for this post!

    • svonnah May 10, 2010 at 9:00 AM #

      The part i love about that article is how you can tell she still holds a grudge!

Comments are closed.