AWESOME NEWS!

8 Dec

by Susan Dennard

~~~

So, I went pretty WACKO on my blog yesterday, and I wanted to share the awesome news here too.  (And yes, I realize “awesome” is a very uncool word — especially to non-Americans.  I’m sorry.  I’m a 90s girl at heart.)

So THE NEWS.  What is it?  ::drummmmmmrollllll::

The Spirit-Hunters will be published by HarperCollins!

I’m listed on Publishers Marketplace and everything!  I have to admit, that as over-the-moon as I was for 3 weeks (yeah, I had to wait 3 WEEKS to announce this! The deal happened on November 17th), it didn’t feel completely real until I saw my name on the PM Deals page:

Susan Dennard’s debut THE SPIRIT-HUNTERS, set in an alternate 1800s Philadelphia, where a 16-year-old girl’s brother is taken by a necromancer and his army of walking Dead, and how she must join forces with a rag-tag, demon-fighting group to save him – and the city – as she tries to avoid falling for the group’s dangerous inventor in the process, to Maria Gomez at Harper Children’s, in a significant deal, in a three-book deal, by Sara Kendall and Joanna Volpe at Nancy Coffey Literary & Media Representation.

We’re planning on a summer 2012 release, and if the first book sells well (which it will, right!?  RIGHT!?!?), then books 2 and 3 will come out in 2013 and 2014 respectively.

Sarah and I are gonna be Apocalypsies together! WEEEE!!

I have to say, this wouldn’t have happened without my fabulous agents, Sara Kendall and Joanna Volpe.  (This is Sara’s first deal too!  Congrats are in order, I believe.)  Plus, I need to thank my new editor, Maria Gomez, for loving The Spirit-Hunters enough to buy it! 😀

DREAM BIG, AND THEN DREAM EVEN BIGGER.

I also need to thank the FictionPress world for giving me a start all those years ago…  Oh, those were bad stories, but oh, I learned a lot!

But to be perfectly honest, almost all of my good fortune is thanks to my family.

My parents taught me I could do ANYTHING if I worked hard and never gave up.  They were 100% right.

My sister read all my rotten stories, and my brother…  Well, he didn’t make fun of my stories — that’s a lot, coming from him.

In recent years, my husband, the Frenchman, has been the driving force behind everything.  I can never thank him enough for his love and support.

And last but no least, THANKS TO YOU!  The LTWF readers have been amazing to connect with, and I feel so blessed to be a part of this group.  Lots of fun happens here, and so many stories shared.  It’s been a wonderful two months since I joined. 😀

Seriously, though — to partake in the Full Insanity of my AWESOME NEWS, stop by my announcement from yesterday.  I have pictures of me dancing with my dog (whose name is Asimov) and a video of me announcing the news.

Oooh, and be sure to look below — now I have a new mini-bio. 😉 Cool, eh?

~~~~

Susan Dennard is a writer, reader, lover of animals, and eater of cookies. She is repped by Sara Kendall of NCLit, and her debut, The Spirit-Hunters, will be available from Harper Children’s in 2012. You can learn more about her writing process, crazy life-thoughts, and crippling cookie-addiction on her blog or twitter.

58 Responses to “AWESOME NEWS!”

  1. Gabrielle December 8, 2010 at 12:08 AM #

    AHHHH! THAT IS AWESOME. CONGRATS ON BEING AN APOCALYPSIE(which has an epic name to be in )! Look forward to seeing your novel in 2012 ;D

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:45 AM #

      Thanks, Gabrielle!!

  2. Meagan Spooner December 8, 2010 at 12:16 AM #

    WOOOO! I know I already congratulated you on your blog and on twitter but seriously, this news deserves congratulations EVERYWHERE POSSIBLE. I’m so thrilled for you, and so psyched! 2012 is going to be an AWESOME year!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:46 AM #

      2012 WILL be awesome so long as the apocalypse doesn’t REALLY come!! 😉

  3. Sarah J. Maas December 8, 2010 at 12:20 AM #

    YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:46 AM #

      😀 😀 WOOO! More screaming!!

  4. Ashley December 8, 2010 at 12:36 AM #

    I knew it would happen, congratulations!!!

    Can’t wait till the book signings in L.A.! 😉

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:47 AM #

      Ooooh, book signings in L.A. — for sure. I’ve never been to L.A., so I’ll DEFINITELY be there…

  5. Corina December 8, 2010 at 1:28 AM #

    OMIGOSH!! CONGRATULATIONS!!! That’s so exciting! I can’t wait til it comes out!!! It’d better be available in Australia or I might cry… Haha. That’s such great news though 😀 You’re clearly thrilled, and who wouldn’t be?

    Corina 🙂

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:47 AM #

      Thanks, Corina!! I can’t wait for it to come out either!!!

  6. Judy December 8, 2010 at 1:39 AM #

    Congratulations!!! What awesome news!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:47 AM #

      Thanks, Judy! 🙂

  7. Praya December 8, 2010 at 2:07 AM #

    Congratulations Susan! Your book sounds amazing and I can’t wait to buy it!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:47 AM #

      Aww, thanks, Praya! 😀

  8. kate December 8, 2010 at 2:24 AM #

    congratulations! that’s fantastic!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:48 AM #

      Thanks, Kate!!

  9. Chele December 8, 2010 at 3:37 AM #

    Already said this on Twitter but ahhhhh who cares, CONGRATS CONGRATS CONGRAAAATS! ;DD

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:48 AM #

      Hahaha, more tweets and more comments are always welcome! Thanks, Chele!

  10. Angela December 8, 2010 at 3:44 AM #

    I know I said this on twitter, but I have to say it again.

    Congrats! =D ❤ ❤ ❤

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:48 AM #

      ❤ Thanks, Angela!! 😀

  11. K@ December 8, 2010 at 4:08 AM #

    I think I’ve said this everywhere. Maybe 9000 times. YOU ARE AWESOME. Also: AWESOME IS A FANTABULOUS WORD, AND ALL SHOULD USE IT.

    That is all.

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:49 AM #

      KAT!! I just put together the K@ = Kat. *headdesk*

      I’m glad you approve of “awesome”. Canadians made fun of me, and the Brits do too… :-/

      • K@ December 8, 2010 at 7:30 AM #

        Bahahaaha…what gave me away?

        • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 7:41 AM #

          I recognized your “voice”…and then I checked your email. 😉

          C’est mon ami!

  12. Heather December 8, 2010 at 4:21 AM #

    Congrats! I can’t wait to read it 🙂

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:50 AM #

      Thank you so much, Heather! 🙂

  13. Bee December 8, 2010 at 5:07 AM #

    Cupcakes, confetti, congrats all heading your way! This is mind-freaking-blowing news 😀

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 5:13 AM #

      Mmmmmm cupcakes… Sounds WONDERFUL!! 😀 Thanks, Bee.

  14. Lindsay December 8, 2010 at 5:23 AM #

    Amazing news. Bask in this moment, you deserve it! Congrats!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 5:38 AM #

      Aww, thanks, Lindsay!!

  15. Cat December 8, 2010 at 7:36 AM #

    Congrats Susan!!!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 7:39 AM #

      Thanks, Cat! 🙂

  16. Lydia Sharp December 8, 2010 at 7:55 AM #

    CONGRATZ AND HUGZ AND JUMPING JACKZ!!!!!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 8:04 AM #

      Yes — jumping jacks!!! Thanks, Lydia! 😀

  17. Aurora Blackguard December 8, 2010 at 7:59 AM #

    GOO SOOZ!!!! 😀 CONGRATULATIONS AND YAY! TAKE THAT, PUBLISHING WORLD!!! LTWF IS GOING TO TAKE YOU DOWN! 😀 Well, not really but YEAH.

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 8:04 AM #

      WOO! Thanks, Aurora! Your CAPS ARE CONTAGIOUS!!! 😀

  18. Savannah J. Foley December 8, 2010 at 9:05 AM #

    Yay Susan! ❤

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 9:42 AM #

      Thanks, Sav. ❤ ❤ 🙂

  19. Nhi December 8, 2010 at 9:39 AM #

    Lies! Words like ‘awesome’ shall never die out!

    And being part of the Apocalypsies TOTALLY does not sound foreboding whatsoever. I’m kidding. *winks*

    But in bigger news- IT IS PARTY TIME PEOPLE! 😀 😀

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 9:43 AM #

      Hahaha, I know “awesome” is one of my most used words… I’m pretty sure I use it more than “cool” or “good”. 🙂

  20. Kat Zhang December 8, 2010 at 9:47 AM #

    Yayyyyy!! I’m so excited we finally get to announce it!! 😀 😀 Congrats again, Sooz!

    And that’s one shiny new mini bio ;P

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 11:17 AM #

      Very shiny, I know. 😉 And YAAAY! I’m so glad I can announce it too… That was a hard secret to keep.

  21. Vanessa December 8, 2010 at 10:58 AM #

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!! ❤

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 11:18 AM #

      WOOOO is RIIIGHT!!!! 😀

  22. Olga December 8, 2010 at 11:36 AM #

    This. Is. AWESOME!!! In fact, this is better than awesome. This is AWESOMESAUCE!!!! Many congrats! You completely deserve it!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 11:55 AM #

      Awesomesauce — score!!! I love that phrase… I wish more people said it. 😀

  23. Julie Eshbaugh December 8, 2010 at 11:52 AM #

    I had a dream last night that I was at your house in Germany congratulating you in person. 🙂 Too bad that wasn’t real, but YOUR FANTASTIC BOOK DEAL IS AS REAL AS REALLY REAL CAN BE!!!!!!!!!!!! Congrats Sooz!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 11:56 AM #

      Aw, man! Too bad it was only a dream… Le sigh… You’ll just have to visit (with your family) and make it *not* a dream. 😉

      AND THANKS FOR THE CONGRATS!!!!

  24. Bookflower December 8, 2010 at 2:35 PM #

    Eeeee! That’s awesome! I’m so happy for you! Congratulations!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 3:21 PM #

      Thank you so much, Bookflower! I’m pretty happy too! (duh!) 😀

  25. Jennifer December 8, 2010 at 3:03 PM #

    CONGRATS! I could totally write this all in caps BECAUSE I CAN HARDLY WAIT TO READ THE SPIRIT-HUNTERS!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 3:22 PM #

      ALL CAPS MAKES EVERYTHING MORE EXCITING!!! YAAAY!!

      (Thanks, Jennifer. ;))

  26. Sammy Bina December 8, 2010 at 3:56 PM #

    MORE SCREAMING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • sdennard December 8, 2010 at 4:12 PM #

      ALWAYS ROOM FOR MORE SCREAMING!!! ❤

  27. Joan December 8, 2010 at 7:42 PM #

    AWESOME!!!! *confetti* Congratulations! Can’t wait for 2012 x)

  28. Ella December 8, 2010 at 11:29 PM #

    Congratulations!

    That summary sounds pretty rad, by the way. I swear to God, if the world ends I’ll have to grab your debut and take it with me.

    (Can’t wait for Sarah’s, either. Aahh. <3)

  29. laradunning December 10, 2010 at 4:22 AM #

    Congrats!

  30. JoSVolpe December 13, 2010 at 10:08 PM #

    “Awesome” will never die! 90s 4Eva! Wow. Ok.
    Maybe not ALL 90s things.

    So happy for you still!! 🙂

Comments are closed.