The Querying Flowchart of DOOM

17 Mar

by Kat Zhang

~~~

No, silly, it’s not actually “of DOOM,” but sometimes querying feels like it, no? (And besides, as writers, we’re obligated to be dramatic, right? What, that’s actors, you say? Pshaw!!)

Anyway, in order to ease the beginning querier into the query process, I’ve made a handy-dandy flow chart. Yes, it’s a very condensed version of the pre-query checklist…mostly because I only have so much patience with making little multi-colored text balloons. Also, there are no arrows. I know. Sadness. But look at it as a test of thy skill, young querier! If you can not master the maze that is the Query Flowchart of DOOM, then see it as a sign that you need more training before daring to enter the lair of the dragon–I mean confront Darth Vader–I mean query!

Are you ready to begin your test of skill??

Enter at thy own peril…

So? Did you make it? Are you ready to send out those queries? 😀

…and did you notice the two missing bubbles?

…because I totally did that on purpose as a further test of your skills.

yup

that’s my story, and I’m STICKIN’ WITH IT!

D:<

~~~

Kat Zhang is a Spoken Word poet and a Creative Writing major. She is represented by Emmanuelle Morgen and her book HYBRID–about a girl with two souls–is currently on submission to publishers. You can read more about her writing process and books at her blog.

11 Responses to “The Querying Flowchart of DOOM”

  1. Rowenna March 17, 2011 at 8:35 AM #

    Kat–I love it! You could totally market this as a poster lol.

    • Kat Zhang March 17, 2011 at 9:20 AM #

      Hahaha, Thanks!

  2. Girl Friday March 17, 2011 at 3:45 PM #

    LOL great!

    • Kat Zhang March 17, 2011 at 3:46 PM #

      Glad you like it!

  3. Armith-Greenleaf March 22, 2011 at 11:03 PM #

    The coolness of this knows no bounds. *firm nod*

    • Kat Zhang March 22, 2011 at 11:11 PM #

      ❤ ❤ ❤ 😀 Much love! (or, if you turn sideways, a towering hat!…or, if you turn the OTHER way, a smilie falling on three ice-cream cones!)

      • Armith-Greenleaf March 23, 2011 at 3:19 AM #

        I like the three ice cream cones idea. 😐

  4. Shell Flower August 30, 2012 at 9:23 PM #

    I just love this flowchart. I posted a link on my blog, ‘cuz this is seriously awesome. I’ve queried too soon in the past and the rejection was so painful. I think that if you really follow this advice, it will lead to landing a book deal. I really do 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crazy over Queries? You’re not alone. | Wordbitches - March 18, 2011

    […] How do you know if you’re ready to query? https://letthewordsflow.wordpress.com/2011/03/17/the-querying-flowchart-of-doom/ […]

  2. Are you ready to Query? | !nkyEngineer - April 13, 2014

    […] I 'm going to share this flowchart from Let The Words Flow, a community of former FictionPress.com authors who made the leap to professional publication.  The post can be found here. […]

  3. download identity 2003 - July 22, 2016

    download identity 2003 Great text. I like your web design also. continue your good work.

    Great text. I like your web design also. continue your good work.

Comments are closed.