Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup

4 Jun

Mashup:

Here are some great links on writing, the industry, and all things book related. Some are serious, and some are just downright hilarious. We highly recommend you read them!

– PURE. BRILLIANCE. This is showing, not telling, at its best. Author Chuck Palahniuk (who is awesome, btw) challenges all writers to stop using “thought” verbs; instead, writers should find other ways of getting across what a character thinks by showing them what that character is seeing. Seriously, read this; it just makes you itch to get back to writing!

– This is a test you’ll actually WANT to take! Let us know in the comments whether you guessed right or not (male writer? female?) – some of us LTWF girls were pretty bang-on, and some of us not so much.

– Let’s face it – we all wear clothes (or at least, I hope you all do!) – so what better shirt to wear for writers and book lovers than a bookish t-shirt? This is the place to get the shirts that let you wear your love of literature! (Some of us LTWF girls have bought shirts from here!)

– Literary agent Kristin talks about the e-book sales being under-reported by publishers, and self-publishing.

– This will make you laugh (or at least smile!) – so read this! Besides, who DOESN’T like these types of posts?

– I love inkygirl (aka Debbie Ridpath Ohi) – and I love her cartoon strips (this one in particular made me laugh). Here she talks about her resolution to not go online for a set period of time everyday – and why the mornings just don’t work for her.

-Want to get your novel critiqued AND help a good cause? Writer Kat Brauer offers a critique of 250 words for every $1 you donate to her charity: water fundraiser! Plus, she has a HUGE line-up of agents and authors offering critiques! Be sure to stop buy–it’s running until June 30th!

~~~

~~~

Quotes:

~

“I have claimed that Escape is one of the main functions of fairy-stories, and since I do not disapprove of them, it is plain that I do not accept the tone of scorn or pity with which ‘Escape’ is now so often used. Why should a man be scorned if, finding himself in prison, he tries to get out and go home? Or if he cannot do so, he thinks and talks about other topics than jailers and prison-walls?”

— J.R.R. Tolkien

~~~

Happy Saturday everyone! Let us know what you thought of the articles this week (or if you have any you want to share). Or just let us know what’s up!

😀

6 Responses to “Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup”

  1. Mac_V June 4, 2011 at 2:11 AM #

    Fantastic links! I totally failed the male or female author quiz but got really excited that I recognized the passage from The Blind Assassin which I just finished yesterday! I really am going to try out Chuck’s challenge. I’m terrified to do it but I’m going to try!

    I totally have conversations with people who definitely aren’t there. Out loud. Usually in my car. Alone. But sometimes, sadly, I’m not alone. And then I get the weird looks.

    Somebody please tell me I’m not alone in this!

    Mer

    P.S. I am telling every single person I KNOW about Out of Print Clothing. That. Is. So. AWESOME!!!!! *sees SO much money going to them*

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio June 4, 2011 at 11:35 AM #

      I failed the male/female author quiz too! Hahaha!

      And Chuck’s challenge is SUPER hard! I tried it out on my WIP last night, and OMG talk about difficult! Some of the alternatives fell a bit flat, but I think some turned out to be very interesting. It’s definitely something I want to keep working on.

      I have conversations with people when I’m alone – and sometimes out loud (though definitely not around the hubby). I’ve had some pretty good conversations in the mornings in my head, and in the shower too! So you’re definitely not alone!

      And I was so happy to find Out of Print clothing. Did you see that for each shirt they sell, one book is donated to a community in need through Books For Africa? It’s pretty awesome!

  2. Bee June 4, 2011 at 5:53 AM #

    I scored a 7/10 on that quiz yesterday and that Out Of Print clothing link is so cool!

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio June 4, 2011 at 11:36 AM #

      Oooh, nice! (Sadly, my score wasn’t anywhere close to yours, ahahaha :p)

      And I know! I’m so happy that I stumbled upon that site! 😀

  3. Nicole June 4, 2011 at 10:14 PM #

    I got a 6 out of 10 on the female/male writer quiz.

    It told me I should stop thinking and read more books written by men. Which is odd because most of my favorite books ARE by men.

  4. Safferina June 5, 2011 at 6:42 AM #

    I got a 7/10. I didn’t want to think much about it so I just skimmed and only picked up a few words.
    You guys always give the best links! The t-shirt is amazing and I would so get those if I didn’t live far away! And Chuck’s challenge did raise really interesting points. I have to try that.

Comments are closed.